

## HPC AND SCIENCES RESEARCH COMPUTING FACULTY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

## CHARTER

The Division, School and University continue to invest in, and make improvements to our research computing environment. We are of a scale now, that we need a senior faculty lead advisory group to work with and inform the administration of the research computing organization so they may continue to shape and develop our competency in advanced research computing and technology.

Research Computing currently manages over 14,000 processors with 2.8 petabytes of storage as a service to the Faculty of Arts and Sciences. As we move forward with planning the Massachusetts Green High Performance Computing Center (MGHPCC) opening in January 2013, we would like the input and guidance of our faculty in the design and operation of these next generation facilities. Coordinated and consolidated research computing models have enabled us to significantly reduce our carbon footprint while also growing and supporting over 4,000 individuals within the science research computing systems. We now wish to further improve our capabilities.

As an advisory group we will also explore topics such as advanced visualization, sustainable support and cost models, workload and job balancing and virtual server systems, software licensing, archival storage policies and remote computing (cloud) systems. This list is clearly not exhaustive; topics will be added as we discuss them. The overall goal of the advisory group is to suggest improvements to research computing that will further underpin and enhance each of our many scientific projects.

As needed, policy requests and access controls may also be discussed and any suggested changes will be added as action items to the meetings. The chair, Dean, and Administrative staff will act upon the suggestions and guidance made by the committee.

We aim to hold no more than 4 meetings per calendar year, develop a mailing list for communication and provide minutes and reports to the Dean of Science with action items and follow up work.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Lars Hernquist (chair) John Shaw Alan Aspuru-Guzik John Huth Tim Kaxiras Scott Edwards Daniel Eisenstein Randy Buckner Zhiming Kuang Paul Moorcroft James Cuff Gabrielle Naglieri